Entries now open for 29th annual Radio Awards

Staff Writer

Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) will return to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on October 14 and entries open today.

Last year’s Best On-Air Team (AM), 2GB’s Nights with Steve Price and Best On-Air Team (FM); Nova Entertainment drive team: Kate, Tim and Marty have until 19 May to enter this year’s awards.

The ACRAs are a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry’s stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia.

CEO of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said: “While the industry is highly competitive, it’s a night where radio presenters from all over Australia come together to celebrate the incredible talent across Australian radio.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members across networks and associated industries. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Other winners from last year included Sam Pang (Nova 100 Melbourne winner of the Best Newcomer On-Air gong.  Sam and his Nova Melbourne breakfast on-air team Chrissie Swan and Jonathan Brown also won the Best Station Produced Comedy Segment.

Hit Network’s Hamish and Andy won the 2016 ACRA for Best Networked Program.

Kent ‘Smallzy’ Small host of Smallzy’s Surgery on the Nova Network, took home the ACRA for Best Music or Entertainment Presenter.

Jonesy & Amanda WSFM101.7 Sydney breakfast duo took out best Syndicated Program for their national weekly show My Generation.

Last year’s ACRAs were held in Melbourne and hosted by Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen and more than 1000 people attended. The announcement of this year’s host, presenters and entertainment will follow in the coming months.

Ms Warner said a feature of the Awards is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry.

Last year’s inductee was Nova Entertainment CEO, Cathy O’Connor.  Previous inductees have included; Jeremy Cordeaux, Peter Harvie, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Tony Pilkington, Graham Mott, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, Bob Rogers, Paul Thompson and Kevin Blyton.

Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry-wide senior executive panel.

Entries for this year’s Awards close on 19 May 2017.

Information about entering the Awards, categories and conditions of entry can be found on the website.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all