Behind the scenes at the ACRAs

Last weekend, the radio industry converged for the country’s biggest night in radio –  The Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs). 

Radio Today were on the red carpet chatting with some of the industry’s nominees including, Bianca DyeChrissie Swan and Jimmy and Nath.

Megan caught up with Bianca Dye from the Gold Coast’s 90.9 Sea FM, who said it was an honour to be nominated for Best Entertainer (Provincial) for the first time in 15 years.

“I’m actually honoured, and I know that sounds cliche, but I haven’t won this award for 15 years, and I’m actually the only female to have won it twice in a row back in my Nova days and I have never been nominated since, until tonight,” said Bianca. 

Bianca has been in the industry for 29 years and went up against the likes of Hit 106.9’s Jess FarchioneHit 104.7’s Ellie Angel-Mobbs, and Mix 106.3’s Bronte Langbroek to win the Best Entertainer (Provincial) ACRA.

Bianca also won the Best Community Service Award (Provincial) with co-host Ben Hannant and former co-host Dan Ansty for their coverage of the South East Queensland Floods in which Ben’s property went underwater. 

Best Entertainment Presenter (Metro) nominee Chrissie Swan discussed her new solo national 2-4pm show with Megan and also commented on the speculation in the lead-up to the announcement of her new role. 

“If I did every job that journalists made up about me, I’d be 12 versions of myself. I’ve read a lot of weird things about myself – none of them are true of course,” said Chrissie.

“That is true, I am doing two til four.”

Chrissie’s solo appointment comes after the news of Chrissie, Sam and Brownie ending their show to pursue other opportunities alone. 

Kyle Sandilands won the ACRA for Best Entertainment Presenter (Metro), but Chrissie said it was an “honour” to get nominated in the category for the first time. 

Watch a snippet of the interviews below featuring an appearance from Mike E and Emma, who discuss being on the other side of the fence since their departure from the former The Edge 96.1, which became CADA this year.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by RadioToday (@radiotodayanz)

Find the full list of ACRA winners here.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all