New York Festivals unveils 2023 Grand Jury

New York Festivals 2023 Radio Awards has announced the Grand Jury for 2023, made up of international radio industry executives spanning 19 countries on six continents. 

The Jury includes content creators, directors, producers, journalists, writers, sound artists, industry thought leaders and recognizable industry voices.  

“We look for wide experience, demonstrated achievement and geographic diversity in our jury members as a way of quantifying fairness in the selection process. All of our Grand Jury members volunteer their time and are award winners themselves,” said Rose Anderson, SVP, Executive Director, New York Festivals Radio Awards.  

2023 Grand Jury Members include: 

  • Richard Baker, Founder/Director, Southern Ocean Media – Australia
  • Siobhan McHugh, Associate Professor of Journalism, University of Wollongong – Australia
  • Aaron Kearney, broadcaster, sports commentator and five-time New York Festival Awards winner
  • Pariya Taherzadeh, multi-award-winning podcast producer and lecturer at AFTRS
  • Karena Wynn-Moylan, producer/presenter Bay FM
  • Maddy Fryer, Executive producer and leader in radio, podcasts, TV and digital media production
  • Fyona Smith, Managing Editor, Today FM Bauer Media Audio Ireland
  • Robyn Ravlich Australian writer and independent radio feature maker
  • Beth Atkinson-Quinton, award-winning audio producer, broadcaster and founder of podcast network Broadwave
  • Cathie Harrop, New Zealand award-winning producer/performer
  • Andrew Biggs, Imaging Producer/Director, Eyesound – New Zealand
  • Paul Bushnell, Auckland Manager, Radio New Zealand – New Zealand

For the full list of Grand Jury Members, click here.

The roster of companies jurors represent include: SiriusXM, BBC, Radio New Zealand, Radio Mitre S.A., Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HarperCollins Publishers UK, Radio-Canada Ohdio, Talkers Magazine, Accompany Studios, Bioneers, TBI Media, Penguin Random House UK, Magnum Opus Broadcasting, NASA/JPL, Radio City, New York Philharmonic, CliffCentral, Southern Ocean Media, TBI Media Ltd, and Clare FM. 

The NYF Radio Awards Grand Jury members view all entries during online judging panels to determine a score based on industry-specific criteria.

Juries determine Gold, Silver, and Bronze Trophy and Finalist Diploma Winners.

The top-scoring entries are honoured with the Grand Trophy and special Industry Awards to honour Broadcaster of the Year and Production Company of the Year.

The newly unveiled National Press Club Award will go to the highest-scoring entry in the following news program categories: 

  • Best Coverage Of Breaking News Story
  • Best Coverage Of Ongoing News Story
  • Best Nonfiction Series and News Podcast.

The entry deadline for the 2023 Radio Awards competition is January 31, 2023.

To enter visit: HERE. For additional information, visit: Rules and Regulations and 2023 Radio Awards Categories.

All 2023 award winners will be celebrated at the NYF Storytellers Gala taking place on April 18th at the 2023 NAB Show Centennial in Las Vegas.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all