The Marty Sheargold Show releases teaser program ahead of Monday’s premiere

The Marty Sheargold Show has released a 20-minute teaser program to give audiences a taste of what they can expect when the show launches on Monday.

The show will go to air at 6am on Monday on Triple M Melbourne and be syndicated across the network in the afternoons at 3pm.

It replaces the long-running Hot Breakfast show with Eddie McGuire and Luke Darcy.

The sneak peek includes anchor Troy Ellis as well as producers Lauren, Matt and Will who will be in the studio throughout the program.

Radio Today’s chat with Marty Sheargold, including how long he expects the program to run for, the pressure he feels being the only named party in the show’s name, and how he will balance the Breakfast show with his stand-up career, will go live on Monday.

Note: Since the publication of this story, the audio available online has changed. The story has been updated to reflect this, and the new “cheeky preview”, released on Friday, can be heard below. 

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (13)
Post new comment
Cardboard Carl
14 Jan 2021 - 6:57 pm

Why does it sound like it’s recorded in a cardboard box?

Pete
15 Jan 2021 - 7:50 am

I could only listen to this bloke in very small doses.

Chris
15 Jan 2021 - 9:26 am

Obviously conclusions can’t be made from a 20 minute demo tape, but it is an interesting sample.

The format feels identical to KTM on Nova, though Marty is now the dominant voice. As the main host he’s now a little over-exposed, whereas he was often reacting to Kate and Tim on his previous show and not always leading the discussions. Not sure how it’ll stretch out for a 3 hour block.

With that said, it does still sound like an FM breakfast show, with all the laughing in the background and multiple voices that are far less dominant, like producers, so maybe it fits that format. But as a KTM fan it felt a bit too much.

Pete drinks his own
15 Jan 2021 - 9:34 am

@Pete
Almost like if you mixed it with some music and the avg commute to work…maybe it could just be successful

Devon
15 Jan 2021 - 11:09 am

It’s spelt ‘sneak peek’

    15 Jan 2021 - 11:45 am

    Thanking you, Devon! Definitely not the ‘peak’ of my writing with that one.

Claudine
15 Jan 2021 - 11:43 am

Radio for a brain dead audience

Alanna
15 Jan 2021 - 12:15 pm

Where can we hear it

    15 Jan 2021 - 12:22 pm

    Hi Alanna,

    This story first ran on Thursday afternoon and had the audio embeded, however it has since been removed. I understand SCA will be releasing more teasers/ previews over the weekend. When I find this, I will add it in and update the story.

    Thanks,
    Vivienne – Radio Today

Craig Troth
16 Jan 2021 - 12:50 pm

Well Claudine you must have been brain dead long enough to listen to this to form your opinion …. interesting !!

cam
17 Jan 2021 - 2:12 pm

I realise Ed & Darce had reached its use by date but sort of hoped the mmm hot breakfast format would continue.Listening to this obviously not. No wonder Ross & Russ ratings cont to go up. Really hate that forced background laughter at something that isnt funny…..

Rodney
28 Jan 2021 - 3:25 pm

Listen to him I feel like I have to go and find my BONG I threw away 20 years ago if it wasn’t for
Mick Molloy I would not listen to you any more I have listed to you’s most of my life put BILLY and JB BACK ON in Sted of HIM PLEASE

Too Old for Triple J, Too Young for Talkback
29 Jan 2021 - 10:27 am

I listened to Triple M’s The Hot Breakfast since the demise of Jo & Lehmo (on Gold). Marty Sheargold has just made me turn off. He is so boring. Drones on and says nothing of substance. He sounds like every other station. Keep Troy but lose Marty. Better yet, get Eddie and Darc back. Just because they fell out with each other, they don’t have to get along in order to make good radio. Thank heaven for Rosie, Sarah Maree and Micky (still devo over Jane).

Jobs

See all