Finalists named for CRA’s Brian White Scholarship

Staff Writer

Commercial Radio Australia has chosen eight young radio journalist finalists in the inaugural Brian White Scholarship, named after the coveted radio journalist and former general manager of 3AW.

The winner will be granted the opportunity to undertake an eight-week paid work attachment, consisting of two weeks each at Macquarie Media, SCA, NOVA Entertainment and ARN.

The finalists are: Eleanor Harrison-Dengate, Rachel Storer, Tys Occhiuzzi and Sam Koslowski from New South Wales, Kate Lambe, Lucy McLeod, Rebecca Maynard from Western Australia, and Queenslander Bryce Heaton.

To determine the recipient, the finalists will attend a workshop at Nova in Sydney with news directors Deborah Clay (ARN), Michelle Stephenson (Nova), Erin Maher (MMR) and Natasha Jobson (SCA) putting the students through a series of radio news room focused tasks.

The winner will be announced the week commencing 29 May.

“The industry is investing in the future of radio journalism by exposing students to the leading radio newsrooms in Australia,” said Joan Warner, chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia.

“Live and local radio news is produced throughout Australia 24 hours a day, seven days a week and the scholarship offers the chance to learn in this fast-paced environment,” she added.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all