Peter Harvie joins Radio Hall of Fame

Staff Writer

Director of Southern Cross Austereo and highly respected radio and media industry executive, Peter Harvie was inducted into the Commercial Radio Hall of Fame at the 26th Annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards last night in Melbourne.

Peter was honoured for his outstanding lifetime achievement and contribution to the radio broadcasting industry at a gala ceremony, attended by 1200 of his industry peers at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

With more than 45 years experience in the advertising, marketing and media industries, Peter is greatly respected by some of Australia’s most successful on-air and off-air talent.

He started his career in advertising, joining Clemenger Melbourne as a radio writer in 1966, where he became Creative Director and just three years later was appointed to the Board. 

The company restructured in 1973 to become Clemenger Harvie, and Peter was appointed Managing Director.  Clemenger Harvie went on to be one of Melbourne’s most successful and well known advertising organisations. 

One of Clemenger Harvie’s long standing clients was the Triple M radio network. In 1993, Harvie became the Managing Director of Triple M Radio Network.  He was appointed to the Board and soon advanced to the position of Group Managing Director.

He was then appointed Executive Chairman of Austereo Group Limited from 2001 until May 2011, Executive Chairman of Austereo Pty Ltd and steered the business through the merger with Southern Cross Media to become Australia’s biggest and most diverse radio companies, Southern Cross Austereo.

Commercial Radio Australia chief executive officer, Joan Warner said: “Peter Harvie is an outstanding leader and creative force in the radio broadcasting industry and continues today to be a supporter of commercial radio as an advertising medium and entertainment platform.”

The Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry peers and are selected by an executive level judging committee.  Previous inductees include last year’s Kevin Blyton, Graham Mott, Tony Pilkington, Greg Smith, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Bob Rogers, Gary O’Callaghan, Paul Thompson, Bob Francis, Rod Muir and the late Frank Hyde.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all