MediaWorks & NZME share spoils at NZ Radio Awards

Staff Writer

With Survey #1 behind them, it’s time for the New Zealand industry to let loose with The NZ Radio Awards.

The awards, held on Friday evening, featured 20 categories, and were hosted by Matt Heath from Radio Hauraki Breakfast, and Jono Pryor from ‘Jono & Ben Drive’ on The Rock.

The winners were relatively evenly spread across both NZME and MediaWorks, with a couple of the premier awards being heavily contested.

MediaWorks Paul HenryPaul Henry from MediaWorks RadioLive won two prestigious awards – The Sir Paul Holmes Broadcaster of the Year award, and Best Talk Presenter. 

The highly sought after ‘The Blackie’ Award, which celebrates great moments in broadcasting, was won by Matt Heath, Jeremy Wells and Laura McGoldrick from NZME’s Radio Hauraki’s Breakfast Show for their ‘Thanks for your Honesty segment.

The segment featured the show asking the New Zealand Prime Minister live to air if he had ‘self-pleasured’ in the previous month – the story made worldwide news. See the video below.

The award for Best Content Director followed a strong year of ratings growth for More FM, and was won by MediaWorks Christian Boston.

And Networked Station of the Year was won by NewsTalkZB which is the dominant station across New Zealand.

Congratulations to all the winners, a full list is below.

Click here to view who got what.


Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all