NZ Radio Awards 2017: ZM Network wins station of the year

Staff Writer

The winners of the 2017 New Zealand Radio Awards have been announced at a special awards ceremony at Shed 10.

The Radio Awards Show was presented by Stacey Morrison and Sharyn Casey.

A total of 47 award winners were announced, acknowledging on-air personalities, programming, news and sports, marketing and promotions, creativity and production, sales and community involvement.

The winners of the Premier Awards were:

  • Best Music Breakfast Show – Jay-Jay, Dom & Randell, The Edge Network
  • Best Music Non-Breakfast Team – Jono & Ben, The Rock Network
  • Best Talk Presenter, Breakfast or Drive – Duncan Garner, RadioLIVE Network (pictured)
  • Best Talk Presenter, Other – Marcus Lush, Newstalk ZB Network
  • Station of the Year, Network – ZM Network
  • Station of the Year, Surveyed Market – More FM Canterbury
  • Station of the Year, Non Surveyed Market – 1XX Whakatane
  • The Blackie Award for “best radio moment in 2016” went to ‘Scotty J Word Insertion’ from Radio HaurakiView the full list of winners here.

Chair of the Radio Industry Awards Committee Jana Rangooni said: “it was wonderful to celebrate the achievements of the finalists and winners but also the wider New Zealand radio industry which is thriving despite so much change in media consumption globally.”

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (3)
Post new comment
10 Jun 2017 - 11:18 am

Agreed Sam, ZM is sounding fantastic overall at the moment. There is a great energy listening to the station at the moment whether your listening on weekdays or the weekends. Didn’t realise the excellent Craig Bruce was behind it.

The Hits is in dire need of some of that magic.

10 Jun 2017 - 9:53 pm

The Hits sounds incredibly flat. ZM has two appointment shows at either end of the day, Hits has a laboured breakfast show (network, I mean – local shows generally sound good in breakfast) and a drive show that is passable.

12 Jun 2017 - 11:23 am

What, no award for The Great Kim Blair ESQ?!


See all