Meet the Judges for the 2022 Radio Today Podcast Awards, Pt. 1

After receiving over 300 entries from podcasters around the country, entries closed for the 2022 Radio Today Podcast Awards last month on July 24th, beginning the judging period. 

The judging period commenced on Monday, July 25th and will finish on Sunday, August 14th.

Make sure to keep an eye out, as the finalists for the awards will be announced on Monday, August 15th, before the winners find out the good news on Monday, August 22th.*

Now that the judging period is underway for the 2022 Radio Today Podcast Awards, it is time to meet the judges who will be deciding what podcasts take out the top spots.

The judges come from far and wide, all having the industry expertise in common, which will see them work through all entries to find the cream of the crop.  

Judges can only judge podcasts they are not associated with to avoid biased judging, assuring a fair outcome for all entrants. 

Without further ado, let us introduce the judges for the 2022 Radio Today Podcast Awards.

Fyona Smith:

Head of Radio & Podcasting at the Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS). 

Fyona oversees the industry currency and industry engagement in programs, delivering national and international professional development and career-launching education in Radio & Podcasting. This includes online, f2f and blended learning and APAC/ Global. 

AFTRS Radio and Podcast Courses engage over 100 industry guests annually.

Fyona’s interests include binaural audio, documentary podcasts, audio fiction and emerging opportunities for short casts. 

Fyona is Editor for The Future Law Podcast and co-produced AFTRS Talks @AFTRS series featuring Tim WintonMarc FennelAvani DiasLeanne Cartwright Bradford and other top Australian Talent.

Fyona is a Grand Jury Panel Member for judging New York Festivals World Radio Awards, including Podcasts and has previously worked for ARNSCA and NewsCorp, winning multiple ACRAs.

Steve Ahern

Steve Ahern is currently Head of the ABU Media Academy.

An internationally recognised trainer, digital media industry expert and broadcast management consultant, he is also the author of the textbook Making Radio and the founding editor of radioinfo.

In his thirty-five-year media career, Steve has worked for the ABCAFTRSIMBA and AMT Pty Ltd. He has served on the boards of several media tech start-up companies and has steered various media and communications companies around the world to commercial success. 

Steve was awarded an Order of Australia Medal in the 2009 Queen’s Birthday honours list for his contribution to media and training.

Henrik Isaksson:

With over 12 years of experience in audio, Henrik Isaksson began his audio journey at Spotify in Sweden, before relocating to Australia in 2011 to support the launch of the business in Australia and New Zealand. 

Having kept a close eye on Acast since being founded in Sweden in 2014, Henrik has been the Managing Director of Acast Australia and New Zealand since the company launched here in 2017. 

Under Henrik’s stewardship, Acast has grown to become the largest independent podcast company in Australia and New Zealand, working with some of the best local podcasters in the business. 

Henrik has always been a huge fan of the spoken word and is passionate about continuing to build and lead a team who share the same enthusiasm for the medium.

Corey Layton:

Corey has over 20 years of experience across integrated content, marketing and producing for the likes of Nova, SCA, Global in the UK and IPG Mediabrands Ensemble. 

When leading the strategic and content direction for the audio technology platform, Whooshkaa, Corey developed Mercedes award-winning hit podcast, Tough Conversations with Henry Rollins and Facebook’s Face to Face

Corey is now the Head of Digital Audio at ARN, leading the continued growth of Australia’s #1 podcast platform iHeartPodcast Network Australia and iHeartRadio Australia.

Sharon Taylor:

Sharon Taylor, SVP Podcast Strategy & Product Operations, Triton Digital.

With more than 13 years of experience in the technology space, Sharon Taylor joined Triton Digital in 2019 through Triton’s acquisition of podcast technology company, Omny Studio

Having worked closely with Triton since 2016 in her role as CEO, Sharon grew Omny Studio into one of the leading audio on-demand hosting and publishing platforms in the world. 

Today, as SVP Podcast Strategy & Product Operations at Triton Digital, Sharon is at the helm of Omny, responsible for guiding the podcast development strategy for the company. In addition to leading the continuous advancement of the Omny Studio platform, maximizing its utility for both radio and podcast clients. 

Sharon holds a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce and resides in Montreal.

More of our judges will be introduced before the judging period concludes on August 14th. 

*The original article had a mistake in the dates that has been amended. We apologise for the error.

Key Dates:

  • Entries Closed: Sunday, July 24 at 11.59pm AEST
  • Judging Period: Monday, July 25 to Sunday, August 14
  • Finalists Announced: Monday, August 15
  • Winners Announced: Monday, August 22

Headline Sponsor:

Supporting Partners



Judging Process:
• The awards have a specially curated judging panel, formed by mixing peers with those elsewhere in the value chain, to make sure that the judgement is informed and considered from all relevant sides of the industry
• Radio Today will publish the full list of judges during the entry period
• Judges will be required to score each submission against specific criteria
• This system makes sure that each and every judge will score every allocated entry, and allows the editorial team to identify any potential bias or inconsistencies
• Judges are able to recuse themselves from entries if necessary. The process is designed to be transparent and fair to all parties.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all