High profile Aussie media identities added to Russia’s ‘banned’ list


Dozens of high-profile media identities and journalists are among a further 121 Australian citizens who’ve been sanctioned by the Russian government.

Names include ABC chair Ita Buttrose, News Corp co-chair Lachlan Murdoch, Nine Entertainment Group chair Peter Costello, Nine CEO Mike Sneesby and  Seven West Media chairman Kerry Stokes, as well as media personalities Stan Grant, Andrew Bolt and Liz Hayes.

Journalists from media outlets ABC News, Sydney Morning Herald, Nine, News Corp and Sky News also made the list, including Rebecca Armitage (ABC), Simon Benson (The Australian), Annika Burgess (ABC), Tim Elliott (Sydney Morning Herald), Paul Kelly (The Australian) and Carrie Anne Greenbank (Nine).

Those included on the list are barred from entering Russia indefinitely, amid accusations of promoting a ‘Russophobic’ agenda in Australia.

Russia’s foreign ministry says the move is in response to Australian government sanctions against Russian individuals, put in place following the invasion of Ukraine earlier this year.

Russia announced a similar move against dozens of British journalists earlier this week.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all