Entries open for National Community Radio Awards

Staff Writer

Entries for the CBAA Community Radio Awards have officially opened for another year. 

The awards recognise and celebrate excellence across 20 categories and showcase the contributions of community radio stations across the country.

Community radio is Australia’s largest independent media sector. 5.3 million people tune in to more than 450 unique stations each week.   

Entries are open to community radio stations with programs, initiatives or practices that have increased their capability and improved the services offered to that station’s community.

Awards categories include:

  • The Michael Law Award
  • The Tony Staley Award for Excellence in Community Broadcasting
  • The Outstanding Small Station Award
  • Outstanding Volunteer Contribution
  • Outstanding Youth Contribution
  • Excellence in Community Participation
  • Excellence in Indigenous Engagement
  • Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement
  • The Troy Garner Award for Excellence in Sports Programming
  • Best New Radio Program – Talks
  • Excellence in Spoken Word, News & Current Affairs Programming
  • Best New Radio Program – Music
  • Contribution to Australian Music
  • Excellence in Music Programming
  • Excellence in Digital Media
  • Excellence in Technical Services
  • Excellence in Training
  • Most Innovative Outside Broadcast or Special Event Broadcast
  • Best Station Promotion or Fundraising Campaign
  • Best Station Production

Entries will be close at 9am AEST on May 8, with the finalists being announced in June. The winners will then be revealed at a Gala Dinner on November 11 held as part of the CBAA’s national community broadcasting conference.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all