Entries open for 33rd annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards

Entries for the 33rd Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) are open, with organisers Commercial Radio Australia announcing the event will be held live this year on Saturday, October 29 at the International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, Sydney. 

“It’s great to get the radio industry night of the year back in the calendar as a live event,” said Joan Warner, chief executive officer of CRA.

“In spite of the challenges in 2021, more Australians than ever are listening to radio due to the hard work and creativity of radio teams throughout the country. I’ve no doubt that we will see some outstanding entries this year.” 

The Awards will be handed out in 39 categories, covering all areas of radio broadcasting, including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment.

ACRA entries are received from 260 metropolitan and regional commercial radio stations across Australia, with judging undertaken by industry and specialist panels. 

Winners will be announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Last year’s winners included the ever-popular The Kyle & Jackie O Show who won Best On-Air Team (Metro FM). The KIIS 1065 breakfast duo, who have been on-air together for 21 years, notched up an impressive record seventh win in the category.

Ben Fordham won Best Talk Presenter, his sixth win in the category but first since moving into the breakfast slot, having previously won for his work in drive.

Ross Stevenson and Russel Howcroft from 3AW Breakfast were named Best On-Air Team in the Metro AM category and The Best Newcomer On-Air award was taken out by comedian Joel Creasey, who joined Kate Ritchie and Tim Blackwell on NOVA Entertainment’s Kate, Tim & Joel drive show.

Ms. Warner said a highlight of the ACRAs is the Hall of Fame which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to Australian radio. 

Previous inductees have included; Doug John MulrayLee SimonWSFM Breakfast co-host Amanda Keller and 2GB’s Ray HadleyCathy O’ConnorJeremy CordeauxKevin BlytonGraham MottTony PilkingtonDerryn HinchDes DeCeanNeil MitchellGreg SmithFrank HydeBob FrancisGary O’CallaghanJohn LawsBob ScottBrian White, amongst others. 

Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry-wide senior executive panel. A full list of recipients can be found here.

Entries for this year’s awards are open and will close on May 13, 2022. 

Information on how to enter can be found at the website www.acras.com.au.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (3)
Post new comment
15 Mar 2022 - 10:17 am

After the complete disregard Commercial Radio Australia showed towards the industry over the last 2 years with not even a virtual ACRA ceremony, why..?

Why exactly should staff spend hours making their entries, and the companies waste thousands on the fees when CRA might just bury it on a Saturday morning email again?

Chuck Tuna
16 Mar 2022 - 8:51 am

How they can judge a 3-4 hour radio show in 60 seconds has still got me beat

@Chuck Tuna
16 Mar 2022 - 10:15 am

“How they can judge a 3-4 hour radio show in 60 seconds has still got me beat”

It’s called a daily show promo 😉


See all