CRA reveals Brian White Scholarship finalists

Former Assistant Editor

Commercial Radio Australia has announced the finalists in the running to kick-start their journalism career in Australia’s biggest radio newsrooms.

The winner of the Brian White Scholarship, named for legendary broadcaster Brian White, commercial radio’s first cadet journalist, will receive an eight-week paid internship.

They’ll work across Macquarie Media, SCA, ARN and Nova in either Sydney or Melbourne, with travel and accommodation included if they live outside these cities.

Finalists from NSW are Isabel Everett (The University of Newcastle), Alix Waugh (Macleay College), Rachel Holdsworth (Charles Sturt University), Isobel Rushe (University of Technology Sydney) and Jarrod Melmeth (University of Newcastle).

From WA, Elliott Chipper, Samantha Goerling, Tom Durkin and Danica Lamb all attend Edith Cowan University, while Naseem Radmehr attends Deakin University in Victoria.

“All of the finalists should be very proud of their achievement. We look forward to seeing them at the workshop where they will participate in a range of newsroom focused tasks to determine who will be awarded the scholarship,” said CRA chief executive officer Joan Warner.

The finalists will attend a one-day workshop in Sydney on May 24 at the SCA Rooftop.

There they will gain feedback and insight from commercial radio news directors including ARN’s Deborah Clay, NOVA’s Michelle Stephenson, Macquarie’s Erin Maher and SCA’s Natasha Jobson.

The past two winners were Kamin Gock and Rachel Storer, both who now work full-time in broadcast media.

The winner will be announced on May 30.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all