Brian White Scholarship finalists announced

Commercial Radio Australia has announced the finalists for the Brian White Scholarship, which offers aspiring journalists an eight week paid work attachment with the four major radio networks.

There are eight finalists: four from NSW, three from Western Australia and one from Victoria, who’ll attend a news workshop in Sydney for final judging on May 23rd.

They’ll be put through their paces by news directors: Deborah Clay (ARN), Michelle Stephenson (NOVA Entertainment), Erin Maher (MMR) and Natasha Jobson (SCA) with the winner to be announced the following week.

The winner can choose to spend their work placement in either Sydney or Melbourne in June, with travel and accommodation included if they live outside these cities.

The scholarship is named for trailblazer and legendary broadcaster Brian White, who was commercial radio’s first cadet journalist and would go on cover wars in Vietnam and the Middle East and served as general manager of 3AW.

Joan Warner, chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia said: “The radio industry is providing journalism students with an opportunity to experience the live, 24 hours a day, 7 day a week demands of a fast-paced newsroom.”

The Brian White Scholarship finalists are:

Kamin Gock  (NSW)

Grant Maling (NSW)

Elfy Scott  (NSW)

Tom Livingstone (NSW)

Madeline Palmer  (WA)

Anna Hay (WA)

Thomas Marlow (WA)

Rashelle McHugh (Vic)

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all