Radio identities on Australia Day Honours List

Staff Writer

A number of radio identities made their appearances on the January 26 Australia Day Honours List, alongside 845 sports people, medical leaders, community workers, scientists, politicians, musicians and showbiz identities.

Graham Ross, a fixture on Australian radio and TV for four decades and an Australia Day ambassador for two, was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

He presented horticulture shows on the Seven Network and the ABC, and co- presented The Garden Clinic on Sydney radio 2GB.

Also getting an AM was Genevieve Jacobs, who presented morning, afternoon and weekend shifts on ABC Radio Canberra, as well as being a board member of Canberra International Music Festival and director of the National Folk Festival.

Adding the title OAM (Medal of the Order of Australia) after their names were:

  • Glenn Wheeler, whose media track record included being a talkback host on 2GB Sydney.
  • Adelaide film maker and video journalist Brady Haran, previously a broadcast journalist at the BBC in London and now co-host of the Hello Internet podcast.
  • Simon Moore, presenter, programmer and board member of Sydney’s FINE Music 102.5.
  • Katie Woolf, host on Mix 104.9 Darwin since 2014 and previously news director and broadcaster on Northern Territory Broadcasters between 2006 and 2008.
  • Neil Rogers of influential Melbourne community radio station Triple R, presenting The Australian Mood since 1987 and serving on its board and advisory group.

Musicians on the list included piano virtuoso David Helfgott, Little River Band co- founder Graeham Goble, rapper Baker Boy, master percussionist and composer Ray Pereira, and director of the Sydney Academy of Vocal Arts and vocal coach to young performers, Steven Ostrow.

The elevation to Commander in the Order of Australia of Margaret Court, one time tennis champion turned priest with anti-LGBTIQ proclamations, saw veteran journalist Kerry O’Brien decline his appointment as an Officer, while Dr Clara Tung Meng Soo, Canberra-based medic who underwent a gender transition, returned the OAM medal awarded to her in 2016.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all