2018 FBi SMAC Award Winners announced

B Wise took out Record Of The Year

The winner of the 2018 FBi Radio’s SMAC (Sydney, music, art and culture) Awards have been handed out at a ceremony on Tuesday night.

Hosted by FBi Radio alumni Hannah and Eliza Reilly and broadcast live on FBi 95.4FM, the awards pay tribute to the best of the musicians, artists, performers, restaurants and events as voted by the people of Sydney.

Among the winners was MusicNSW managing director Emily Collins, who was named 2018 SMAC of the Year. FBi Radio managing director Nikki Brogan says Collins was a fitting recipient.

“The SMAC of the Year this year goes to a person who shares our belief that a vibrant viable culture is a legitimate public interest, and she has worked tirelessly to arrest the contraction of the music industry in NSW.

“On the ground she’s provided invaluable hands-on support to artists and industry. With an eye always on who comes next, she’s made sure these offerings are accessible and relevant to people across the age, gender, sexuality, ethnicity and ability spectrums.”

“She’s been a driving force behind the Parliamentary Inquiry into the Music and Arts Economy, an advisor to the Callinan Review into the lockout laws, Deputy chair of the Australian Music Industry Network and member of the Cities, Nightlife and Creative Sector advisory panel.

“Without fanfare, she has built a comprehensive case for culture in our state, helped unite a disparate industry around it and taken it with iron resolve to the corridors of power.” 

The FBi SMAC Awards have championed Sydney’s most exciting new talent every year since 2008.

2018 FBi SMAC Award Winners

Record Of The Year

B Wise – Area Famous

Best Artist

Justin Shoulder

Best Song

Kwame – WOW

Next Big Thing


Best Live Act

Sampa The Great

Best Music Event

Soft Centre

Best Arts Program

Sissy Ball

Best on Stage

Dark Emu – Bangarra Dance Theatre

Best Eats


SMAC Of The Year

Emily Collins

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all