SYN hold annual awards night

Staff Writer

SYN Media held their annual awards last night with 36 people receiving recognition for their contribution.

Last year it was a pirate-themed party, this year it was a Eurovision inspired event.

One of the winners was Josh Olek, who is now the Production Manager and arvo announcer at 2XL. He said:

"It's always nice to get your work validated, especially when it's amongst the work of hundreds of other talented volunteers. SYN is an organisation that provides opportunities to hundreds of young people that no media organisation around Australia currently replicates, so being a part of that literally puts the special icing on the proverbial cake."

Congrats to all the winners :-

Best Schools On Air Team: Mullauna Secondary College

Best Music Team or Program: Georgia Martin, We Need To Talk About Film

Best Comedy Team or Program: Technical Difficulties and Life, With A Side of Fries

Best Current Affairs Piece: Matilda Marozzi and Sarah Maunder, Panorama

Best News Presenter: Broede Carmody

Best Radio Talk Team or Program: Leona Hameed, All the Best Story of the Week

Best Radio Segment or Feature: Michael Brydon, All The Best Story of the Week

Best Radio Interview: Future Politicians – Interview with Melanie Vassiliiou

Best TV Tech Crew Member: Joel McRae, Tuesday 1700 Technical Director

Best Message – Station ID or Promo: Josh Olek, San Hoang, Beck Dare and Mark Santomartino, Radio Respawn and Sidequest

Under 18 Volunteer or Program of the Year: Claudia Long, Objection

Producer of the Year – TV and Radio: Georgia Delaney Martin, In Joke

Presenter of the Year – TV and Radio: Claudia Long, Objection

Best TV and Screen Piece: Scott Whinfield and Sarah Jackson, 1700

Most Innovative New Content Idea: Michael Casha and Emily Gornalle, Online Department

Best Newcomer: Michael Casha and Emily Gornalle, Online Department

Best Review: Jessica Buccolieri, SYN Reviews – Melbourne International Film Festival

Best Seasonal Program: Tom & Olly – Class Captains

Diversity Program of the Year: Intersection

SYNners Choice: Claudia Long, Objection

Volunteer of the Year: Eddie Williams and Tim Hammond

Outstanding Achievement Above and Beyond: Kane Munro and Andrew Crook

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all