Ray Hadley and Sofie Formica named as 2023 ACRAs hosts

Nine Radio’s Ray Hadley and Sofie Formica have been announced as the co-hosts of this year’s 2023 Australian Commercial Radio and Audio Awards (ACRAs), which will celebrate 100 years of radio in Australia.

ACRA nominations have been extended until July 7 and more hosts will be revealed soon for the red-carpet event taking place at the International Convention Centre on Saturday 14 October.

Both hosts Sofie and Ray have won ACRA Awards in the past, with Sofie being named Best Newcomer On Air in 2023 and Ray – the host of the Ray Hadley Morning Show – being inducted into the ACRA Hall of Fame in 2017, racking up a total of 33 ACRA Awards, making him the most awarded broadcaster in the history of the ACRAs. 

“I’m thrilled as a relative newcomer to radio to be joining veteran Ray Hadley on stage for this 100th anniversary year,” Sofie Formica said.

“As the industry continues to evolve, this is a special opportunity to recognise the depth of talent and to celebrate the incredible achievements of our peers across commercial radio. I have no doubt that it will be a memorable night!”

Ford Ennals, CEO of CRA said, “We’re crafting a night of pure entertainment, with four separate segments hosted by some of Australia’s leading commercial radio talent, with more live music, and with more opportunities for people to meet and mingle.”

“The 34th ACRA Awards will celebrate 100 years of radio in Australia and promises what you’d expect from your favourite radio station – talk, entertainment and great music.”

ACRA Awards will be handed out across eight categories, with 77 awards overall, down from 86 in 2022.

“We are looking forward to revealing the 2023 Hall of Fame Award winner, which last year went to Kyle and Jackie O,” Ford said.

New awards include Station of the Year, Podcast of the Year, Diversity and Inclusion, Best News Event Coverage, Individual Talent of the Year and Podcast Host of the Year. 

“The 2023 ACRAs have introduced three new awards that honour those who have set the benchmarks of creativity and excellence that is the bedrock of the commercial radio industry,” Ford said. 

“The Gudinski Award recognises a champion of Australian music, in honour of the late Mushroom Records founder Michael Gudinski, the ‘Brenno’ Award, named after radio legend John Brennan, will be awarded to the person who has made an outstanding contribution to radio, while the late Glenn Daniel’s 40-year career in broadcast journalism will be recognised in the Best News Presenter FM Award.”

In terms of entertainment, Mitch Tambo will return, with other live performances from Australian artists yet to be named.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (2)
Post new comment
20 Jun 2023 - 7:14 pm

I miss the chaser.

Odd Couple
21 Jun 2023 - 1:50 pm

What an odd pairing. I’m not in charge but to celebrate 100 years of radio I would have had rotating hosts…


See all