Julie McCrossin & Jon Faine among radio names to receive Australia Day Honours

More than a thousand Australians were acknowledged in this year’s Australia Day Honours List and there were a couple of familiar names among them.

Broadcaster and AFL/sports caller Dennis Commetti has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for ‘significant service to the broadcast media as a sports presenter, and to the community’.

Broadcaster, comedian and journalist Julie McCrossin (pictured, left) received her honour for ‘significant service to the community, particularly through LGBTIQ advocacy roles, and to the broadcast media’.

It’s the same honour awarded to ABC Melbourne’s Jon Faine, who this week announced he’d soon be pulling up stumps.  He’s been acknowledged for his ‘significant service to the broadcast media as a radio presenter, to the law, and the community’.

Faine was one of a number of ABC figures to be named a Member of the Order of Australia. Alan Kohler received the honour for ‘significant service to the print and broadcast media as an editor, journalist and finance commentator’.

ABC 666’s Alex Sloan was also acknowledged for ‘significant service to the community of Canberra, and to the broadcast media as a radio presenter’.

Radio National sport’s Warwick Hadfield got a gong for ‘service to broadcast media as a journalist’. While Tim Thorpe from Melbourne’s rrr fm received his honour for ‘service to the broadcast media, particularly to community radio.

Congratulations to all those on whom the spotlight was shone in the Australia Day Honours List.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all