Sia, Vance Joy, Birds of Tokyo all APRA winners

Staff Writer

For the second year in a row, Sia Furler aka Sia has been named Songwriter of the Year at the Australasian Performing Rights Association (APRA) Awards.

Vance Joy won Song of the Year and Pop Work of the Year for Riptide.

Grammy winner Lorde and writing partner Joel Little won the inaugural Outstanding International Achievement Award.

Louis Schoorl, who co-wrote 88 songs last year and has worked with Jessica Mauboy and Taylor Henderson took home the award for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year.

Perth band Birds of Tokyo claimed the Most Played Australian Work and Rock Work of the Year for Lanterns.

The awards were presented in Brisbane.

Watch Sia's acceptance speech below.


Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all