The ACRAs are heading to Brisbane in 2019

Former Assistant Editor
Grant Denyer takes out Best Newcomer at ACRAs 2018

It’s only been a few short hours since the ACRAs wrapped up for another year, but the location for next year’s awards has already been locked in.

After three years in Melbourne, the ACRAs are moving north for 2019,  and are set to be held in Brisbane.

A spokesperson for Commercial Radio Australia has confirmed to Radio Today that radio’s night of nights will take place at the Royal International Convention Centre in Bowen Hills on October 19.

They will be preceded by the Radio Alive conference on October 18, which this year saw presentations and panels from the likes of Todd Sampson, Virginia Trioli, Tracey SpicerJay WalkerdenGrant Tothill, Jaime Chaux, Cath O’Connor, Kate Burleigh, Kate Langbroek, Kate Ritchie, Ben Fordham, Will McMahon and many more.

The conference was attended by 600 industry representatives this year, with 1,000 fronting up a night later for the awards ceremony, revealed Commercial Radio Australia CEO Joan Warner.

“While Melbourne has hosted the ACRAs for the last few years, historically the industry likes to share the event,” said Warner.

“Our radio industry members are from metropolitan and regional Australia and moving the events highlights the importance of radio across all regions.

“Brisbane has a vibrant and competitive commercial radio industry and we look forward to returning to host our events there in 2019.”

Saturday night at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre saw 37 awards given out, with the absent Kyle and Jackie O taking out the top gong for best Best On-Air Team (Metro FM), wrestling it back from Kate, Tim and Marty who’d won the previous two years.

Industry stalwart and Triple M (EON FM) founder Lee Simon was recognised for his contribution to the industry over the past 50 years with a well-deserved induction into the Radio Hall of Fame.

Catch up on the full list of winners from the 2018 ACRAs here.

Comment Form

Your email address will not be published.

Recent comments (0)
Post new comment


See all